Outside body

Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty Joint Advisory Committee


The Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) Joint Advisory Committee is a meeting of all interested partners and stakeholders who hold an interest in the Forest of Bowland AONB and the development of the area and management of the natural habit.  The Committee meeting is open to public attendance and generally meets twice a year.

Contact information

Samantha Gorton

Legal and Democratic Services
PO Box 78
County Hall

Phone: 01772 532471

Our representatives

  • County Councillor Albert Atkinson (Chairman) - Lancashire County Council
  • Councillor John Browne    Preston City Council
  • County Councillor Mrs Susie Charles - Lancashire County Council
  • County Councillor Shaun Turner - Lancashire County Council
  • Councillor Mrs Rosemary Elms    Ribble Valley Borough Council
  • Councillor Jane Parkinson - Lancaster City Council
  • Councillor James Starkie    Pendle Borough Council
  • Councillor Ian Thompson - Craven District Council
  • Councillor Val Wilson - Wyre Borough Council
  • County Councillor Richard Welch    North Yorkshire County Council
  • Mr Michael Helm    LALC
  • Graham Jones - Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB)
  • Mr David Kelly    Ramblers Association
  • Councillor Colin Price    Yorkshire Local Councils Association
  • Paul Reynolds - Champion Bowland
  • Mr Andrew Taylor    Bowland Land Managers Forum
  • Jackie Monk - Environment Agency
  • Marilyn Pilkington - Friends of Bowland
  • Matthew Upton - United Utilities
  • Rosemary Budd - Natural England
  • Janet Sharp (Reserve) - Champion Bowland
  • Barrie Tyrer (Reserve) - Bowland Experience Limited
  • Elizabeth Knowles (Reserve) - Natural England
  • Andrew Laycock - Craven District Council
  • Richard Hammond - Lancaster City Council