Regulatory Committee

Meeting to be held on 2nd July 2014

Electoral Division affected: All

Constitution, Membership, Terms of Reference and Programme of Meetings. (Appendices 'A' and 'B' refer)

Contact for further information: Mike Neville, 01772 533431, Office of the Chief Executive, mike.neville@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary

This report sets out the constitution, membership, and Terms of Reference of the Regulatory Committee and the Commons and Town Greens Sub Committee together with the respective programme of meetings for 2014/15.

Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- 1. The constitution and membership of the Committee as agreed by the full County Council on the 15th May 2014.
- 2. The current Terms of Reference of the Committee.
- 3. The 2014/15 programme of meetings for the Committee.
- 4. The constitution and appointment of the Chair and Deputy Chair for the Commons and Town Greens Sub Committee as agreed by the full County Council on the 15th May 2014 together with the current membership, Terms of Reference and programme of meetings for 2014/15.

Background and Advice

The County Council at its annual meeting in May agreed the constitution of the Regulatory Committee as 15 members on the basis of 7 Labour, 6 Conservative, 1 Liberal Democrat and 1 Independent member, with nominations to be submitted to the County Secretary and Solicitor by the respective political groups.

The following County Councillors have subsequently been nominated to serve on the Committee for the remainder of the 2014/15 municipal year.



County Councillors (15)

P Britcliffe	C Henig	
I Brown	G Molineux	
A Clempson	J Oakes	
D Clifford	A Schofield	
B Dawson	Miss K Snape	
J Gibson	D Stansfield	
P Hayhurst	D Whipp	
P White		

A copy of the Committee's current Terms of Reference is attached at Appendix 'A'.

In December 2013 the full County Council also approved the following programme of meetings for the Committee with all meetings to be held at County Hall, Preston, commencing at 10.30am.

2nd July 2014 10th September 2014 22nd October 2014 17th December 2014 4th February 2015 25th March 2015 13th May 2015

Commons and Town Greens Sub Committee

At the annual meeting on the 15th May 2014 the full County Council also agreed the constitution of the Commons and Town Greens Sub Committee as being 11 members on the basis of 5 Labour, 5 Conservative and 1 Liberal Democrat and the County Secretary and Solicitor has subsequently received the following nominations from each of the respective political groups.

County Councillors (11)

M Barron	J Oakes	
I Brown	R Shewan	
D Clifford	Miss K Snape	
N Hennessy	P Rigby	
A Kay	C Wakeford	
D Whipp		

County Councillor J Oakes and County Councillor Miss K Snape were appointed as Chair and Deputy Chair respectively for the remainder of the 2014/15 municipal year and a copy of the Sub Committee's current Terms of Reference is attached at Appendix 'B' for information.

The following programme of meetings for the Sub Committee was approved by the full Council at the meeting in December, 2013, with all meetings to be held at County Hall, unless otherwise specified, and to commence at 10.00am.

30th July 2014 23rd September 2014 11th November 2014 2nd March 2015 21st April 2015

Consultations

N/A

Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

There are no risk management implications arising from this item

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper	Date	Contact/Directorate/Tel
Full Council agenda and Proceedings	December 2013 15 th May 2014	Janet Mulligan, Office of the Chief Executive, 01772 533361

County Council Constitution May 2014

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate N/A