Agenda and minutes

Extraordinary General Meeting, Full Council - Friday, 15th September, 2023 10.00 am

Members of the public are welcome to attend our meetings to watch them in person at any of the venues across the County. Meetings held in County Hall will be webcast, and we encourage people to view them that way. If you want to attend a meeting in person at any of the venues, note that there may not be space to maintain a social distance from others in the meeting room. We respect your individual choice whether to wear a mask – they are not mandatory, but some people feel more comfortable wearing one. You should not attend if you have tested positive for Coronavirus or if you have any symptoms of Coronavirus.

Anyone wanting to attend a meeting in person should contact us first at

Venue: Committee Room D, County Hall, Preston

Contact: Dave Gorman 


No. Item


Apologies and Announcements


Apologies for absence were received from County Councillors Aldridge, Bailey, Barnes, Britcliffe, Brown, Collinge, Couperthwaite, Gibson, Holgate, Hosker, Jones, Kay, Motala, Oakes and Tomlinson.


County Councillors Arif, Buckley, Iqbal, Hasina Khan, Nweeda Khan, Malik and Pate joined the meeting virtually.


Suspension of Standing Orders


At the Vice-Chairman's request, and due to the meeting not being held in the council chamber, Full Council agreed to the suspension of Standing Orders 6 and 45(3), i.e. those which specify that each seat in the Council Chamber shall be numbered and allocated to Councillors and that Councillors must be in their designated seats for their vote to be counted, for the duration of this meeting only.





Disclosure of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests


None declared.


Election of Chairman


County Councillor Tim Ashton, Vice-Chairman of the County Council, presided for this item.


It was moved by County Councillor Aidy Riggott, and seconded by County Councillor Mike Goulthorpe, that County Councillor Alan Cullens be elected Chairman of the County Council.


There being no other nominations, it was:


Resolved: - That County Councillor Alan Cullens be elected Chairman of the County Council until the Annual General Meeting of the Full Council in 2024. County Councillor Cullens then took the Chair and made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office.