Committee details

Police and Crime Panel for Lancashire

Purpose of committee

The County Council acted as host authority for the Panel until 8 July 2013  and the Agenda and Minutes of meetings held until 8 July 2013 can be accessed via the above links. 


On 8 July 2013 the Panel agreed that Blackburn with Darwen Council would take over as the host authority for the Panel for the following 12 months to be followed in subsequent years by Blackpool Borough Council and the County Council. Agenda/minutes for meetings of the Panel can be viewed at the Blackburn with Darwen Council website


The Panel is a joint committee made up of representatives from the 15 local authorities in the Lancashire Police Force area (see below) together with two independent co-opted members.


·  Lancashire County Council

·  Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council

·  Blackpool Council

·  District Councils x 12


The Panel will exercise specific powers under the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011, and all other enabling powers, discharging its functions in accordance with the Policing Order 2011. View the Panel's Terms of Reference.



Vacancy for an independent co-opted member of the Lancashire Police and Crime Panel – closing date Friday 29 July 2016


  • County Councillor Geoff Driver CBE   
  • Cllr K Hollern  (Chair)  Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council
  • Councillor Lynn Williams   
  • Cllr D Smith    Lancaster City Council
  • Cllr M Thomas    Lancaster City Council
  • Cllr S Hirst   
  • Cllr D Eaves    Fylde Borough Council
  • Cllr L Oades    Fylde Borough Council
  • Cllr R Boswell   
  • Cllr M Smith    South Ribble Borough Council
  • Cllr A Bradley    Chorley Borough Council
  • Cllr P Barton    Hyndburn Borough Council
  • Councillor Margaret Foxley   
  • Councillor David Henderson   
  • Cllr J Cooper    Burnley Borough Council
  • Cllr M Brindle   
  • Cllr A Barnes    Rossendale Borough Council
  • Mr P Richardson  (Co-Optee Voting)  Independent co-opted member
  • Mr S Vali  (Co-Optee Voting)  Independent co-opted member

Contact information

Support officer: Phil Llewellyn, Executive and Councillor Support Manager.

Postal address:
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council
Democratic Services, Resources Department
Town Hall

Phone: 01254 585369