Outside body

Lancashire Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education (SACRE)


The Lancashire Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education (SACRE) is a committee made up of four groups: Representatives of the Christian denominations and other religions reflecting the principal religious traditions of the area; the Church of England; Teacher and head teacher associations; County Councillors.  The SACRE meets approximately four times a year.

The SACRE's main function is to advise the local authority on matters related to the religious education which follows the Agreed Syllabus, and on collective worship in schools. 

Find out further information about SACRE. 

Contact information

Misbah Mahmood
Tel (01772) 530818 Email: &nbsp;<a href="mailto:misbah.mahmood@lancashire.gov.uk">misbah.mahmood@lancashire.gov.uk</a>

Legal and Democratic Services
PO Box 78
County Hall

Phone: (01772) 530818

Our representatives

  • County Councillor Azhar Ali OBE
  • Robert Ash - Jewish Representative
  • CC A Cheetham    (Representing Lancashire County Council)
  • Mrs K Cooper  (Co-optee Non-voting)  (Representing the LASGB)
  • Dr Malcolm Craig (Observer) - (Representing the Bahá’i Faith)
  • Professor Alan Gillies - (Representing) Methodist
  • Julie Gordon - Teacher Association ATL
  • Ms J Harris  (Co-optee Non-voting)  (Teachers in the Secondary Sector - shares with Kate Murry)
  • Ms Lisa Horobin - (Representing the Blackburn Diocesan Board of Education)
  • Mufti Khalid Ibrahim - Islam
  • Ahmed James - Islam
  • Peter Lumsden - Building Bridges Burnley
  • Sajda Majeed - Building Bridges Burnley
  • Mr P Martin  (Chair)  (Representing the ASCL)
  • Mr B McMullen    (Representing the Roman Catholic Church)
  • County Councillor Yousuf Motala
  • Mrs J E O'Rourke    (Representing the Church of Enland)
  • Kelsang Pagpa    (Representing Buddhism)
  • Mufti Javid Pathan - Islam
  • Keith Pennington (Observer) - (Representing) Humanists
  • Carolyn Reade - University of Cumbria (Senior Lecturer)
  • Ms Julie Roper - Representing the NASUWT
  • Mrs Tibret Safraz - Islam
  • Mrs H Sage    (Representing the Church of England)
  • Mrs H Shukla    (Representing Hinduism)
  • County Councillor Peter Steen
  • Karen Stephens - NAHT
  • Ishwer Tailor
  • Mr F Williams    (Representing Lancashire County Council)
  • Mr J Wilson    (Representing the Church of England)